I bought a house 4 years ago and insurance suddenly wants to come do an inspection. Is this normal?

I bought a house 4 years ago and insurance suddenly wants to come do an inspection
Is this normal?
What are they inspecting for?
Are they gonna jack up my rates or cancel it or something?

250 Piece Survival Gear First Aid Kit

LifeStraw Water Filter for Hiking and Preparedness

250 Piece Survival Gear First Aid Kit

  1. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    >What are they inspecting for?
    why don't you ask them, moron?

  2. 1 month ago
    noko

    you signed for the insurance but didn't read the contract you signed?

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      4 years ago..

      >What are they inspecting for?
      why don't you ask them, moron?

      Because i dont want to raise any red flags

      • 1 month ago
        Anonymous

        >Because i dont want to raise any red flags
        Why do you live in such fear anon?
        >Oh OK, can you tell me more about this inspection, what are you looking for and for what purpose?
        A normal question by a customer.

        I used to do this for ins companies, we don't look inside you heckin house. its typically once every 10 years. They will be looking at the roof condition, adjacent hazards, to see the electrical panels are up to date, last time the furnace was serviced. etc. The whole look around, pictures, and reports often does not influence your rate but does factor into the replaceability cost of home.

        Last guy that came by was nice, didn't care to get in the house. Seems like a comfy job.

        I hope your not talking about furnaces etc because that's just stupid since you are not certified and if you are that's a massive conflict of interest your insurer can use to void the coverage if something happens.

        Not sure about furnaces since I yeeted mine out. I called my insurer about wood stove installation.
        >Sure anon, you know where to find a fire code, go ahead
        >No extra charge on insurance
        I also know that if a fire starts, it sure as shit won't be by the wood stove. Because I did a schizo paranoid build.

        • 1 month ago
          Anonymous

          Inspector here, comfy job. I could make $250 a day driving around taking pictures of houses, If they're all in the same area. Otherwise its side hustle tier, they'll pay for $.20 a mile 100 mile round trip for a site visit to get your $35 fee. Almost never had to talk to any homeowners though I did enjoy that part of the job. It did involve a lot of phone calls, as in cold calling policy holders to setup a appointments. Every single one got defensive and assumed we're out to scam them, like OP.

          Here's what I would tell them: "We'll cover the most up to date state of the home, that includes improvements to the house and landscape. If you had solar panels, new HVAC, or even new deck built we will support claims for them."

          Now what were we actually looking for? pitbulls, pools, significant new additions, trampolines, decrepit roofs, and improperly installed/unmaintained utilities. That stuff makes your rate go up and everyone around you too. Might put your neighborhood in a different insurance group.

  3. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    Aside from the usual smoke detectors, wiring etc make sure to tidy up and not leave clutter around. Saw a news report about some boomer who lost his insurance because his backyard had some clutter in it, fire hazard was their excuse. Frickers didn't even have the courtesy to I form him beforehand, they just flew a drone over his yard

  4. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    I used to do this for ins companies, we don't look inside you heckin house. its typically once every 10 years. They will be looking at the roof condition, adjacent hazards, to see the electrical panels are up to date, last time the furnace was serviced. etc. The whole look around, pictures, and reports often does not influence your rate but does factor into the replaceability cost of home.

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      How are they going to see my electrical panel if they don't look inside the house?
      I also service my own appliance.

      • 1 month ago
        Anonymous

        I hope your not talking about furnaces etc because that's just stupid since you are not certified and if you are that's a massive conflict of interest your insurer can use to void the coverage if something happens.

        • 1 month ago
          Anonymous

          That wasnt me, i dont have a furnace

        • 1 month ago
          Anonymous

          Answer the question.

          • 1 month ago
            Anonymous

            Often the main panel is outside. Consider luring the inspector into a sexually compromising situation to prevent an honest report back to the company.

        • 1 month ago
          Anonymous

          >you're not allowed to fix your own shit bro are you serious bro thats a breach bro
          Frick off you yurohomosexual.

        • 1 month ago
          Anonymous

          >if something happens
          Never in the history of mankind has this happened. You can "fix" your furnace with shoestring and duct tape and the insurance cannot deny a claim if something happens. Insurance is valid whether you're an idiot or not. If they happen to find out that it's improperly fixed BEFORE something happen, they can disable it and tell you to get it fixed properly with proof, inspect it and then allow you to use it, but if they did not know before, unless they can prove malicious intent, your insurance policy will protect you against your own doing.

          • 1 month ago
            Anonymous

            Super easy to scam insurance companies then.

          • 1 month ago
            Anonymous

            >Insurance is valid whether you're an idiot or not.

            This is so far from the truth. Insurance companies can deny your claim for a myriad of technicalities. Policies are written so they can do this, obviously, and after a fire they can hire certified fire investigators to make sure you didn’t do something moronic like jury rig your furnace.

            • 1 month ago
              Anonymous

              Hence the malicious part. If an investigation proves that it was criminal, the insurer will deny a claim, but they can't deny you just because you are an idiot. They have the right to inspect your equipment and you have a "duty" to report major malfunctions but if you legitimately thought you replaced a fuse on a controller with the right one and it turns out it was too big and the thing caught on fire, you would 100% win a lawsuit against your insurer if they tried to deny you.

              Super easy to scam insurance companies then.

              Kind of, but they also have experts who know better than you.

          • 1 month ago
            Anonymous

            Hence the malicious part. If an investigation proves that it was criminal, the insurer will deny a claim, but they can't deny you just because you are an idiot. They have the right to inspect your equipment and you have a "duty" to report major malfunctions but if you legitimately thought you replaced a fuse on a controller with the right one and it turns out it was too big and the thing caught on fire, you would 100% win a lawsuit against your insurer if they tried to deny you.

            [...]
            Kind of, but they also have experts who know better than you.

            It's nice to see someone else here has actually looked this shit up. I thought I was the only one that had heard of things like "intent," and "negligence."

  5. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    No woodstoves in your garage, cuz of the solid fuels you supposedly store that a spark could fly out the front and ignite your gas can than magically started to leak.

    Nothing wrong with the propane hot water heater with a constant flame pilot light an inch off the floor though. No one sees an issue there.

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      >Nothing wrong with the propane hot water heater with a constant flame pilot light an inch off the floor though. No one sees an issue there.
      Code (in the US) requires gas appliances to be elevated if they are in the garage. It’s either 18” or 24”.

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      > No woodstoves in your garage, cuz of the solid fuels you supposedly store that a spark could fly out the front and ignite your gas can than magically started to leak.

      Its because you'll fricking gas yourself cooking inside with solid fuel and burn down your house when you collapse

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *